Raspberry Pi initial software install

I’ve finally received a Raspberry Pi. No doubt it will end with the other junk I don’t use.

I then downloaded Debian Squeeze, as that’s what I’m most familiar with. Installed that on a spare memory card and powered it via USB despite the warnings (I’ve found before that my laptop has over-current protection).

Tried to log in over ssh, and annoyingly discovered it is not running an SSH server. I had to get a keyboard and plug it in. Logged in, the best way to get new software is to install it via the package manager.

Instructions for wifi dongle http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=6256

Update it:
sudo apt-get update
To search for the package:
apt-cache search ssh server | less
Buried in all that, I spotted:
openssh-server - secure shell (SSH) server, for secure access from remote machines
To Install it:
sudo apt-get install openssh-server
Need to sort out the users before putting this on the internet, probably change the certificates too.

Use startx to get the window manager running. The default web browser is Midori. I prefer Chrome, but there is no official build, so I install the Chromium open source version. The package is: chromium-browser and I then remove the default web browser icon.

I also want a web server, Apache is the most obvious choice (package apache2). It installed:


Starting web server: apache2apache2: bad group name www-data
Action 'start' failed.
The Apache error log may have more information.
failed!
invoke-rc.d: initscript apache2, action "start" failed.

Found others have had the same problems. To fix:

sudo groupadd www-data
sudo usermod -a -G www-data www-data

restart apache

sudo apache2ctl restart and now when you point your browser at it you should get the “It Works!” page.

I also disabled overscan to get rid of the big black borders and add the line disable_overscan=1 to /boot/config.txt

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

